Five Faves

Today I’m highlighting five foods that I tried for the first time during my Savoury Staycation – ones that I really liked but that didn’t get their own posts. My staycation is winding down and I want to give these items a mention.

Fig Jam

$6.79 from the fancy Sobeys on 104

Sobeys puts this jam in the same display case as the fancy cheeses, and for good reason: this stuff goes great with any and all cheeses. The next time I have occasion to prepare a cheese plate for a party or other event, I’m going to include a bowl of this jam along with a little spoon so people can have a dollop of fig jam with their cheeses. I had it a few times with toast and cheese, or as a chutney on the side of a savoury dish. At almost $7 – a bit steep for a small jar of jam – I wouldn’t have bought it if I didn’t have this blog as an excuse to try it. But I like it! It’ll be more of a special occasion item for me, but I’ll definitely get it again.

Fig jam

What’s left of the fig jam.

Black Russian Rye

$4.59 from the Italian Centre

I have a love affair with dark, dense breads, and this is the best one I’ve ever tried. No exaggeration. I usually prefer pumpernickel but I’m tossing pumpernickel to the curb and going with black rye all the way, baby. I especially like this bread toasted, which turns some of its chewiness into a more crispy texture. (That’s a little foodie tip BTW – if you don’t like dense breads, try toasting them to change them to a lighter texture.) I used slices of this black Russian rye in place of a hamburger bun one day and LOVED it. I still have half the loaf sitting in my freezer, whispering “eat me” whenever I open the door. And I will eat you, black Russian rye, oh I will.

Black rye

Dense and delicious black Russian rye.

Mexican Hot Sauce

$1.50 from Paraiso Tropical

This is the find of the century! Or maybe just the week, but I’m delighted with this inexpensive little condiment. I made tacos a few days ago and used this instead of the chunky salsa sitting in the back of my fridge, and I may never go back. This sauce has a medium-low heat level, just enough of a kick to brighten up the dish, and because it’s a sauce it doesn’t overload a small taco the way that salsa does. I’ve only used this on tacos so far but I can see me adding this to lots of dishes to perk them up. Paraiso on 118 is a bit out of my way but it’s worth the trip – I’ll head back there soon to pick up a few more bottles of this sauce. Yum!

Hot sauce

Mexican not-too-hot sauce.

Tacos

Tacos made with goat cheese and hot sauce.

Danish Blue Cheese

$5.29 from Save-On

I medium-enjoy blue cheese but it has two problems that keep me from enjoying it more: (1) it’s crumbly and messy, and (2) it’s often too pungent for my liking. This Danish blue cheese solved both problems because it’s mild and pre-sliced! (There’s with wax paper to keep the slices separated.) Sliced blue cheese is the best thing since sliced bread. This cheese was especially good with the black rye and fig jam above.

Danish blue cheese

Danish blue cheese – sliced!

Oka Crème Cheese

$5.49 from the fancy Sobeys on 104

I didn’t like this cheese at first until I realized what was bugging me: it’s a bit Cheez-Whizzy. But then it occurred to me: this is made from real cheese instead of petrochemicals and orange dye, so enjoy! After that I liked it a lot; in fact this Oka creme disappeared into mah belleh within a few days. I didn’t even share it with anyone. I used it like I would use cream cheese, and I lurve me some cream cheese. It was divine with the black rye and fig jam above, or on toast with porchetta.

Oka creme

Small tub of Oka crème cheese.

These two cheeses, like the fig jam above, are a bit pricey for everyday but I’m sure I’ll find some excuse to get them again. 😉

Rye sandwiches

1. Danish blue cheese, fig jam, black rye.
2. Fig jam, Oka crème, black rye.
3. Strawberry jam, Oka crème, black rye.
4. Porchetta, Oka crème, black rye.

Honorable Mention…

White Corn Tortillas

$6.50 from Paraiso Tropical

This pack of 50 tortilla shells is a great price, and they’re made fresh locally, which is a plus. I’m still figuring out how to cook these properly. I tried heating them in a frying pan either dry or with a little oil, and both ways they turned out chewy and tough. I put them in the oven with some olive oil and cinnamon sugar but they turned out crispy and chewy and tough. I’ve had some luck recently, though, by toasting them in the toaster oven, and then using them for pizza (see yesterday’s post), tacos, or as a crispy flatbread. I still have more than half the pack left and I’ll have to freeze them before they go bad, but for now I’m still having fun experimenting.

Corn tortillas

Fresh, locally made corn tortillas.

My Savoury Staycation blog wraps up tomorrow – stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

