Mustard Marmecue

I make a killer mustard barbecue sauce. The only problem is, my brain keeps switching up the letters – every time – which is very annoying and I keep calling it bustard marmecue or mustard marmecue or, when I’m really aggravated, just bastard sauce. These days I just call it marmecue sauce.

Mustard seeds and other spices

Marmecue ingredients.

Marmecue sauce is super easy to make. There are lots of ingredients but it’s fun breaking out all the spices I don’t get to use every day. It’s like playing with a really delicious chemistry set.

Marmecue ingredients

Marmecue ingredients.

Here’s how I did it.

1: I made homemade mustard from my friend Wade’s recipe. I used a combination of red and yellow mustard seeds, I added whole dried rosemary (Wade’s suggestion – it helps tone down the mustard’s heat), and I used red apple balsamic from Evoolution. At the end I didn’t bother putting the mustard in the fridge to thicken – it’s not needed here.

Finished mustard

Finished mustard.

2: I made the barbecue sauce from a recipe my friend Gwen gave me. The recipe isn’t online but I just put all of the following into a large saucepan:

  • The entire batch of mustard (approx 1 cup)
  • Large can (369 mL) of tomato paste – you could use tomato sauce or a mix of both if you want it thinner, but I like this sauce super thick
  • 1/2 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 4 Tbsp butter
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp berbere (Ethiopian spice mix; sub cayenne or chili powder if you can’t find berbere)
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

I put it on medium heat until the butter melted, then low heat for about half an hour, stirring occasionally. Done.

Marmecue sauce cooking on the stove

Marmecue sauce cooking on the stove.

It makes about 4½ cups of marmecue sauce.

Marmecue sauce in jars

Marmecue sauce in jars.

The sauce keeps well for about a month in the fridge, although mine never lasts that long. I put it on everything and I’ve even convinced he-who-does-not-like-to-try-new-things to eat it. Occasionally. 😉 I’ve been known to spread a centimetre-thick layer of this sauce on a hamburger. Add a couple pickles and a bit of cheese and you have the world’s best burger. Anywhere that you would use mustard or barbecue sauce or ketchup, you can use marmecue instead.

BTW while writing this post I decided to try something new. I made two little pizzas using the corn tortillas I got from the Latin grocery store as the crusts. Then I slathered on some marmecue sauce. Then I topped them with the last of the porchetta and provolone that I got from the Italian Centre.

Marmecue pizza

Marmecue pizza. OMGYUM!

Verdict: Dude! This is holycrapdelicious! OMGYUM! This is why food was invented! I’m writing this at 9 pm on Dec 28 and I can tell you this is probably the most delicious thing I’ve eaten all year.

This entire Savoury Staycation was totally worth it on account of these little pizzas. I have lots of tortilla shells left, and lots of marmecue sauce, now I just have to go back to the Italian Centre and get more porchetta and provolone. Who’s with me? 🙂

2 thoughts on “Mustard Marmecue

    • I’ve thought about making a Marmite condiment but haven’t come up with anything yet. I bet it would be delicious though! I’ve heard of putting Marmite in gravy which would also rock.

Leave a Reply

