Grannies and Granola

This is granola from the High Level Diner. It’s a mixture of grains, seeds, nuts, currants, and muscovado (dark brown) sugar:

High Level Diner Granola

High Level Granola.

These are Granny Smith apples:

Granny Smith apples

Go, granny, go.

The Grannies have some delicious friends:

Apples and pears

Ambrosia, golden delicious, grannies, and bartlett.

These are the ingredients for apple crumble, in addition to the apples, pear, and granola: pumpkin pie spice, lemon juice, butter, and muscovado sugar:

Ingredients for apple crumble

Ingredients for apple crumble.

I’ve made variations on this dessert many times and I never measure anything. This is the first time I’ve used High Level Diner granola in place of an oat-based crumble topping but I don’t think that changes anything significantly.

Steps to make apple crumble:

Steps 1, 2, 3

Steps 1, 2, 3.

1. Chop apples and pears, place in baking dish.

2. Add lemon juice and sugar, then stir.

3. Top with a generous sprinkle of pumpkin pie spice (you could use just cinnamon if you prefer). I don’t mix it in.

Steps 4, 5, 6

Steps 4, 5, 6.

4. Top with granola.

5. Sprinkle on more sugar.

6. Slice butter and lay on top. If you’re really industrious you could grate the butter instead or run the butter and granola through a food processor together.

Lots of apple crumble desserts

Lots of apple crumble desserts.

In this case, I made one large (serves 2-3 people) and 4 individual desserts. I used all 4 apples and the pear from the photos above, plus the full stick of butter (1/2 cup). I used just over half the granola and about a cup of muscovado sugar. BTW if you use very juicy apples/pears (e.g. from the farmers market) you should reduce the sugar by at least half. You won’t need much.

This dessert freezes wonderfully! You cook it from frozen and the apple/lemon/sugar mixture on the bottom turn into a pie filling as it thaws and cooks.

Ready for the freezer

Ready for the freezer. Remove the lids before cooking unless you enjoy eating melted plastic.

In fact, today I didn’t cook these at all. I wish I could tell you how delicious they are but I prepared these to enjoy later. You’ll just have to make some yourself to find out how good they are. 😉

Into the freezer

Into the freezer. See you later!

To cook, put them in a 400°F over for 30-35 minutes. Serve with ice cream. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Grannies and Granola

  1. I’ve always remembered the “apple and oats” desserts from our childhood with fondness but I’ve never been able to recreate them. It sounds like you’ve found the winning combination. I’m going to try what you’ve got going on 🙂 Do I just use plain oats instead of the granola above?

    • You can use just oats, or sometimes I add ground almonds, currants, sunflower seeds, etc for variety. I prefer steel-cut oats (not instant) because they give a better texture. Make sure to add a little brown or raw sugar to the oats.

      The advantage of this recipe over what we ate as kids is that this is made from apples, not canned pie filling. The filling from this recipe isn’t as thick or sweet as canned but I like this better. And it’s easy; I don’t even peel the apples.

Leave a Reply

