Salad Splendid

I have a secret superpower: I make fantastic salads. I don’t do it often because it’s a lot of work but for your reading pleasure (and my health and whatever) here’s how I do it.

First, I follow the rule of AB3: Avocado + Beans, nuts, or seeds + 3 colours of vegs. Then I add 1-2 fruits for a bit of sweet and juiciness. And then I add cheese because life without cheese isn’t much of a life.

Salad ingredients

This salad is brought to by the letter A and the letter B and by the number 3.

I vary the dressing but this time I used olive oil, fig-infused balsamic, and a pinch of kosher salt. Sometimes I add miso paste and/or maple syrup but I kept it simple this time.

Now my big secret is this (are you ready? This is a gamechanger): I put the greens into the bowl with the dressing and tossed them before adding any of the toppings, thusly:

Salad greens

Take a moment to catch your breath.

Next I chopped and added all the fruits and vegs. A commenter on this blog (thanks Kelly!) suggested shaving the pear and cheese which I did – great tip!

Finally, in lieu of croutons, I drizzled some blood orange infused olive oil onto the cocktail bread and toasted it (omgyum!). The result:

Finished salad

A delicious, hearty salad.

Best salad ever!

One thought on “Salad Splendid

Leave a comment