Salad Spendthrift

There’s an H&W Produce within walking distance of my home. I like H&W – they sell a wide range of produce at low prices. The thing you need to know, however, is that there’s also a wide range of quality. I always go there with the mindset that I’ll buy whatever looks good, rather than planning to buy some specific items.

So on my most recent trip I passed on the sweet potatoes (scrappy-looking) and kale (limp), and picked up some salad greens, carrots, mushrooms, and tomatoes. I also picked up two bags of my favourite holiday treat: pfeffernusse (lighter-than-air ginger cookies from Germany). Everything in the picture below cost a total of $11.10, and half of that was the cookies.

H&W shopping trip

H&W shopping trip

It’s a good thing these salad ingredients were so cheap since I’m going to dress them with $12-a-bottle olive oil and balsamic. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Salad Spendthrift

    • Thanks Ron! I didn’t even know it was something you could make on your own… which is a silly assumption now that I think about it. 🙂 I’d love to try some.

Leave a Reply

