Sangria Study

I’ve never been much of a wine drinker and never had sangria until a few weeks ago when I went to Tres Carnales and had their sangria which is omgdelicious. So I decided to make my own.

Keep in mind this was an experiment! I didn’t really know what I was doing, but here’s what I did:

1. I found a super easy recipe online – basically wine + fruit + ginger ale.

2. I went to DeVine Wines on 104 St and asked for a wine recommendation. I have no idea how to buy wine so I asked for something under $20. The woman helping me said you don’t need to spend that much on wine being used for sangria because the fruit will sweeten it for you. She suggested this $14 Spanish red wine:

Spanish red wine

Spanish red wine

3. At the last minute I remembered to also buy a corkscrew. (The last time I bought a bottle of wine I had to use a screw and pliers to get it open. It wasn’t pretty.)

4. I went home and looked on YouTube to find out how to use a corkscrew.

5. I used the corkscrew to open the bottle of wine. (This step was a complete success.)

6. I poured the wine into a 2-litre mason jar because I don’t have a glass pitcher and there’s something tacky about putting wine in a Tupperware jug. I chopped up 2 mandarins and 2 apples and added them. I was going to add more fruit, but that was enough to fill the jar to the top of the wine.

Making sangria

Making sangria

7. I put it in the fridge for 24 hours to let the flavours develop.

Jar of sangria

If I could save wine in a bottle.

8. I poured a glass mixed with fruit-flavoured sparkling water (instead of ginger ale.)

Glass of sangria

Glass of sangria

And the verdict is… meh. It was ok but really winey. I found that the more sparkling water I added, the more I liked it. In fact I think that if you subbed out the wine completely and replaced it with cranberry juice, this would be really delicious, although it’s really just fruit punch at that point.

Will I make this again? Maybe. If I do, I’ll try a different wine even though the Spanish wine I used here seemed like it was good quality (it sure smelled good once some of the alcohol evaporated). I’ll also use different fruit, maybe berries and lemons and limes, and I’ll add ginger ale next time.

In some ways, this all seems a bit silly – all this work for a beverage that was just medium-delicious (medi-yum?). But that’s part of the Savoury Staycation process. I want to try new things, and sometimes new things aren’t wholly successful, and that’s ok. 🙂

Have any of you ever made a really good sangria? Any tips or recipes you can share? If I get some good suggestions I’ll try making another sangria and write about it before I wrap up this blog at the end of December.

4 thoughts on “Sangria Study

  1. I love a good sangria! I enjoy both the red and white varieties. The one I (and Phil to be fair) make is with a jug (yes a jug) of cheap white wine, simple syrup (or just sugar), apricot brandy, and club soda (not a huge fan of too sweet and there’s already sugar in there). The fruit portion is all citrus, I use a mandolin to very thinly slice a few whole lemons, a handful of key limes, and a couple oranges (mandarin if available). Now we have a fruit bowl of sangria and we’re ready for company! Something like this, http://wine.about.com/od/howwineismade/r/whitesangria.htm

  2. I’m not a big sangria fan (it’s just meh for me) but I’m not a red wine fan. I love a nice white wine though. Definitely try it with white before giving up. Also, be aware that there are many types of red and white wine that range from sweet to dry (almost bitter). For sangria I’d definitely go for a sweeter wine to start. If you find it too sweet then next time try it with a wine that is a little more dry. Also, I have a friend that loves the sangria at Moxie’s. When she orders it, it always arrives at our table much lighter in colour than what you showed in the pic above. I suspect your experiment was to heavy on the wine in the wine/soda ratio.

Leave a Reply

